News alert

Hurricane season--binding authority limits

The National Weather Service defines the "official" Atlantic hurricane season as occurring from June 1 to November 30 each year. During these dates, whenever the National Weather Service issues a "Severe Weather Warning" or a higher level of warning due to a tropical depression, we will not be able to accept binders on new accounts in the states indicated when a storm is within area limits of 70 degrees West longitude and 15 degrees North latitude (the Atlantic Coast and Gulf Coast states). These states are:

- Atlantic Coast: Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia
- Gulf Coast: Alabama, Florida, Louisiana, Mississippi, Texas

We also will not be able to accept increases in limits, additional liabilities, or additional locations on any existing policies in these states. (Our storm tracking follows the official location as defined by the National Weather Service or NOAA.) During these situations, please contact your underwriter for guidance.

These restrictions shall remain in effect until 24 hours after the storm is no longer considered to be a hurricane or tropical storm by the <u>National Weather Service's National Hurricane Center</u>. All quotations and authorizations covering risks in these areas will be suspended and will not be able to be honored during this period.

For Markel to accept any new policy or binder, you must mail, fax, or e-mail any binders and/or increase endorsements before the "named storm" has penetrated the geographic areas specified above. We will not be responsible for any new coverage written or pre-dated if it is mailed, faxed, or e-mailed after that time.

Thank you for your cooperation. If you have any questions, please call your Markel underwriter.