Ocean marine

Ocean cargo coverages

  • Offers worldwide transportation and stock insurance
  • Extensions available for domestic transit, exhibition, salesperson samples, and installation
  • Underwriters are autonomous, creative with the ability to craft unique coverages to fit the insured’s exposure needs

Target classes

  • Importers/exporters
  • Manufacturers
  • Distributors
  • Logistics companies
  • Global programs
  • Revenue recognition
  • Stock thrughput
  • Retailers

Capacity

  • $25 million any one conveyance
  • $25 million any one storage location

Hull, protection and indemnity, and marine liability

Capacity

  • $5 million per vessel
  • $1 million P&I
  • $1 million miscellaneous primary liability
  • $10 million marine excess liability

Coverages

  • Provides insurance solutions for vessel owners, operators, and marine business in the US
  • Ability to package coverages to meet the needs of insureds
  • Experienced point of contact underwriters able to answer all questions and address concerns


Target classes

  • Tug and barge operators
  • Inland and coastal vessels
  • Marine construction
  • Terminal operators
  • Wharfingers
  • Stevedores
  • Ship repairers
  • Charterers
  • Government entities
  • Marina operators

Underwriting contacts by region

Check the map to see our regional boundaries.

Jeff Vetter
Managing Director
678-935-5720
jeff.vetter@markelcorp.com

Ashley Harpool

Associate Underwriter
469-241-3440
aharpool@markelcorp.com

Lisa Heine
Underwriting Specialist
469-241-3475
lheine@markelcorp.com

Lee Koch
Senior Underwriter
469-241-3460
lkoch@markelcorp.com

Roxane Oakley
Senior Underwriter
469-241-3436
roakley@markelcorp.com

Evans Nash
Managing Director
804-273-1491
enash@markelcorp.com

Caroline Bowmer
Senior Underwriter
804-565-1950
cabowmer@markelcorp.com

Jeanette Makowskyj
Senior Underwriter
804-273-1416
jmakowskyj@markelcorp.com

Mike Keely
Managing Director,
Ocean Marine
804-217-8780
mkeely@markelcorp.com

Sharon Covington

Senior Underwriter,
Ocean Marine
804-273-1485
scovington@markelcorp.com

Mike Keely
Managing Director,
Ocean Marine
804-217-8780
mkeely@markelcorp.com

Kenneth Keegan

Director, Marine
212-898-6616
kenneth.keegan@markelcorp.com

Taylor Walker
Senior Underwriter,
Marine
212-898-6664
taylor.walker@markelcorp.com

Tom Ingraham
Senior Underwriter,
Marine
212-898-6629
thomas.ingraham@markelcorp.com

Mike Keely
Managing Director
Ocean Marine
804-217-8780
mkeely@markelcorp.com

Caroline Bowmer
Senior Underwriter
Ocean marine
804-565-1950
cabowmer@markelcorp.com

Jeanette Makowskyj
Senior Underwriter
Ocean marine
804-273-1416
jmakowskyj@markelcorp.com

Mike Keely
Managing Director
Ocean Marine
804-217-8780
mkeely@markelcorp.com

Alexis Brittan
Senior Account Specialist
Marine
415-490-4625
alexis.brittain@markelcorp.com

Executive leadership

Jon Hahn
Executive Underwriting Officer,
Property
804-287-6913
jon.hahn@markelcorp.com

Product leadership

Mike Keely
Managing Director,
Ocean Marine
804-217-8780
mkeely@markelcorp.com

Evans Nash
Managing Director
804-273-1491
enash@markelcorp.com

Jeff Vetter
Managing Director
678-935-5720
jeff.vetter@markelcorp.com