Technical risk

Target market

  • Energy
  • Technical risks

Target classes

  • Commercial
  • Industrial
  • Chemical
  • Utilities
  • Construction
  • Transportation
  • Public entity

Underwriting approach

  • Evaluation of risk characteristics
  • Location-level detail pricing model
  • Natural catastrophe perils modeled in RMS
  • Blending of exposure, catastrophe, and experience pricing

Required underwriting information

  • Complete description of operations
  • Detailed schedule of values
  • Insurance specifications and program structure
  • Key loss control reports
  • Loss history (10 years preferred/5 years minimum)
  • Proposed policy form

Capacity utilization

  • $50m per account
  • $25m critical catastrophe
  • Minimum account premium – $50,000 gross
  • Minimum capacity charge – $2,500 per million

Underwriting contacts by region

Check the map to see our regional boundaries.

Michelle Sisler
Senior Director,
Property
804-217-8757
msisler@markelcorp.com

Sandi Pugh
Executive Underwriter,
Property
804-273-1468
spugh@markelcorp.com

Candice Walker
Senior Underwriter,
Property
469-241-3479
cwalker@markelcorp.com

Michelle Sisler
Senior Director,
Property
804-217-8757
msisler@markelcorp.com

Frank Tricamo
Senior Director,
Construction
732-391-8847
ftricamo@markelcorp.com

Candice Walker
Senior Underwriter,
Property
469-241-3479
cwalker@markelcorp.com

Michelle Sisler
Senior Director,
Property
804-217-8757
msisler@markelcorp.com

Michelle Sisler
Senior Director,
Property
804-217-8757
msisler@markelcorp.com

Sandie Pugh
Executive Underwriter,
Property
804-273-1468
spugh@markelcorp.com

Frank Tricamo
Senior Director,
Construction
732-391-8847
ftricamo@markelcorp.com

Steven Schreiber
Senior Director,
Property
415-490-4620
steve.schreiber@markelcorp.com

Rene Barton
Director,
Property
818-227-8164
rbarton@markelcorp.com

Jack Zaritsky
Director,
Property
415-490-4612
jack.zaritsky@markelcorp.com

Executive leadership

Jon Hahn
Executive Underwriting Officer,
Property
804-287-6913
jon.hahn@markelcorp.com