Our cargo team provides protection for goods while in transit (by land, sea, or air), in store during the ordinary course of transit, and in long-term storage.

We cover a wide range of transit and storage risks, across many industries on a worldwide basis (excluding sanctioned territories), with a particular focus on the US and Europe. With more than 75 years combined underwriting experience, Markel International has one of the most experienced teams in Lloyd's and is recognized as a leader in cargo. Coverage is tailored to our clients' individual needs to provide them with a bespoke policy for the industry sector in which they operate. The underwriting team is supported by our experienced, in-house claims team.

Cargo coverage options

Markel offers line sizes up to $50m on Company paper or $30m on Lloyd’s paper.

We write business on a primary and excess basis (coverage varies).

Policy coverage is generally on an all risks of physical loss or damage basis with wording tailored to specific requirements.

Key areas of coverage include:

  • Ocean cargo
  • Cargo stock-throughput
  • Delay in start-up (DSU) written in conjunction with cargo
  • Excess stock
  • Crude oil and refined products
  • Project cargo
  • Machinery
  • Manufactured goods
  • Excess basis only:

  • Vehicles
  • Wines and spirits
  • Foodstuffs
  • Contact our experts

    United Kingdom

    Richard Burnett
    Senior Underwriter & Head of Cargo
    richard.burnett@markel.com

    Graham Williams
    Underwriter
    graham.williams@markel.com

    Brook Styles
    Underwriter – Cargo, Specie, Terrorism
    brook.styles@markel.com

    Natalie Binning
    Underwriting Assistant – Cargo
    natalie.binning@markel.com

    United States

    Jim Taylor
    Director, US Business Development
    jim.taylor@markel.com

    Singapore

    Colin Fordham
    Senior Underwriter & Director – Marine, Asia
    colin.fordham@markel.com

    "The culture and people at Markel make it a great place to work. The most rewarding part of my role is seeing us deliver innovative insurance solutions to customers and seeing our younger members of staff progressing their careers so that they are the ones delivering those solutions."

    Chris Fenn
    Divisional Managing Director, Marine
    chris.fenn@markel.com