Our hull and war team offers a full range of products on a worldwide basis (excluding sanctioned territories) with a particular focus on North America, Northern Europe, the Middle East, and Asia.

Products can be tailored to meet requirements of clients, from smaller local/domestic companies to global operations. Markel is a recognized leader of hull and war business with a long and successful history in the class. The underwriting team is supported by our experienced, in-house claims team.

Marine hull and war coverage options

We offer cover on Company or Lloyd's paper, percentage line varies by subclass:

  • Hull: $25m
  • Builders risks and MII: $50m
  • Marine war: $100m

We write business on a primary and excess basis.

Key coverages include:

  • All risks
  • Limited conditions and navigation
  • Port risks
  • Loss of hire
  • Voyage and tow
  • Increased value, freight interest, and other total loss interests
  • Builders risks
  • Mortgagees interest
  • Marine war
  • Bluewater tonnage
  • Brownwater / greenwater tonnage
  • Specialist tonnage

Contact our experts

United Kingdom

Daniel McCarthy
Senior Underwriter & Head of Hull & War
daniel.mccarthy@markel.com

Kate Gordge
Underwriter – Hull & War
kate.gordge@markel.com

Katie Costello
Underwriter – Hull & War
katie.costello@markel.com

Joshua Wakely
Underwriting Assistant – Hull & War
joshua.wakely@markel.com

Rebecca Kendall
Underwriting Assistant – Hull & War
rebecca.kendall@markel.com

United States

Jim Taylor
Director, US Business Development
jim.taylor@markel.com

Singapore

Colin Fordham
Senior Underwriter & Director – Marine, Asia
colin.fordham@markel.com

Wanshi Lin
Underwriter – Marine
wanshi.lin@markel.com

China

Qianhai Hu
Underwriting Director – China
qianhai.hu@markel.com

India

Anirudh Singh
Chief Underwriting Officer – India
anirudh.singh@markel.com

Deepika Mathur
Managing Director – India
deepika.mathur@markel.com

"The culture and people at Markel make it a great place to work. The most rewarding part of my role is seeing us deliver innovative insurance solutions to customers and seeing our younger members of staff progressing their careers so that they are the ones delivering those solutions."

Chris Fenn
Divisional Managing Director, Marine
chris.fenn@markel.com