Our marine and energy liability team offers a range of traditional marine liability cover as well as ports and terminals, marine trades, and energy offshore and onshore coverages.

We also have marine professional and logistic specialists on our galleon team. Markel International is a recognized leader in all of the marine and energy liability sub-classes and writes business on a worldwide basis (excluding sanctioned territories) with a particular focus on the US, UK, and Asia. The underwriting team is supported by our experienced, in-house claims team.

Liability coverage options

We can offer cover on Company or Lloyd's paper.

Maximum line size:

  • Energy, marine, P&I: $60m
  • Galleon: $30m
  • Ports and terminals: $60m liability and $25m property
  • Marine trades: $30m liability and $15m property
  • U.K. marine: £30m liability and £15m property
We write business on a primary and excess basis.

Marine Liability

Key coverages include:

  • Marine general liability
  • Marine umbrella
  • Charterers
  • Offshore construction
  • Ship repairers
  • Pollution
  • Professional indemnity
  • Logistics
  • Maritime Employers' liability
  • Salvors
  • Social responsibility

Energy Liability

Key coverages include:

  • Upstream on and offshore exploration and production
  • Packages or standalone
  • Renewables

Marine Trades

Key coverages include:

  • General liability
  • Marina operators liability
  • Products liability
  • Boat repairers liability
  • Pollution liability
  • Personal and advertising injury liability
  • P&I cover
  • Buildings and contents
  • Lifting equipment
  • Marina installations
  • Vessels under construction
  • Business interruption
  • Vessels
  • Goods in transit

Ports and Terminals

Key coverages include:

  • Third-party liability
  • Property and handling equipment
  • Business interruption
  • Port craft

U.K. Marine

Key coverages include:

  • Property and equipment
    • Buildings and contents
    • All risks
    • Lifting equipment
    • Marina installations
    • Goods in transit
  • Business interruption for loss of profit, revenue, or rent
  • Hull and machinery for vessels
    • used, operated, constructed or sold
  • Legal and contractual liability
  • Removal of wreck
  • Employers' liability
  • Terrorism

Galleon

Key coverages include:

  • Professional indemnity
  • Cargo liability
  • Warehousemans' liability
  • Third-party property damage and bodily injury
  • Loss of documents
  • Libel and slander
  • Breach of authority
  • Contribution to general average
  • Fines and duties

Contact our experts

United Kingdom

Andrew Carter
Senior Underwriter & Head of Liability
andrew.carter@markel.com

Louise Foley
Head of Marine and Energy Liability
louise.foley@markel.com

Simon Engelen
Head of Underwriting and Portfolio Management
simon.engelen@markel.com

James Munn
Senior Underwriter – Transport and Logistics
james.munn@markel.com

Holley Higgins
Head of Transport and Logistics
holley.higgins@markel.com

Jeannie Schreiner
Senior Underwriter – Marine and Energy Liability
jeannie.schreiner@markel.com

James Hunt
Underwriter – Transport and Logistics 
james.hunt@markel.com

Abigail Piper
Senior Underwriter – Marine and Energy Liability
abigail.piper@markel.com

Ali Welchman
Underwriter – Transport and Logistics
ali.welchman@markel.com

Kathryn Grahame
Underwriter – Marine and Energy Liability
kathryn.grahame@markel.com

Josh Simpson
Assistant Underwriter – Marine and Energy Liability
josh.simpson@markel.com

Benjamin Horspole
Assistant Underwriter – Transport and Logistics
benjamin.horspole@markel.com

James Hughes
Underwriting Assistant – Transport and Logistics
james.hughes@markel.com

Natasha Redgewell
Underwriting Assistant – Marine and Energy Liability
natasha.redgewell@markel.com

Olly Castle
Underwriting Assistant – Marine and Energy Liability
olly.castle@markel.com

United States

Jim Taylor
Director, US Business Development
jim.taylor@markel.com

Singapore

Colin Fordham
Senior Underwriter & Director – Marine, Asia
colin.fordham@markel.com

Wanshi Lin
Underwriter – Marine Liability
wanshi.lin@markel.com

Danielle Yu
Underwriter – Marine Liability
danielle.yu@markel.com

Pik Ying Sam
Underwriter – Marine Liability
pikying.sam@markel.com

China

Qianhai Hu
Underwriting Director – China
qianhai.hu@markel.com

Charlie Zheng
Underwriter – China
charlie.zheng@markel.com

India

Anirudh Singh
Chief Underwriting Officer – India
anirudh.singh@markel.com

Deepika Mathur
Managing Director – India
deepika.mathur@markel.com

Nitin Marathe
Underwriter – India
nitin.marathe@markel.com

Hong Kong

Zita Fok
Underwriter
zita.fok@markel.com