Our marine and energy liability team offers a range of traditional marine liability cover as well as ports and terminals, marine trades, and energy offshore and onshore coverages.

We also have marine professional and logistic specialists on our galleon team. Markel International is a recognized leader in all of the marine and energy liability sub-classes and writes business on a worldwide basis (excluding sanctioned territories) with a particular focus on the US, UK, and Asia. The underwriting team is supported by our experienced, in-house claims team.

Liability coverage options

We can offer cover on Company or Lloyd's paper.

Maximum line size:

  • Energy, marine, P&I: $60m
  • Galleon: $30m
  • Ports and terminals: $60m liability and $25m property
  • Marine trades: $30m liability and $15m property
  • U.K. marine: £30m liability and £15m property
We write business on a primary and excess basis.

Marine Liability

Key coverages include:

  • Marine general liability
  • Marine umbrella
  • Charterers
  • Offshore construction
  • Ship repairers
  • Pollution
  • Professional indemnity
  • Logistics
  • Maritime Employers' liability
  • Salvors
  • Social responsibility

Energy Liability

Key coverages include:

  • Upstream on and offshore exploration and production
  • Packages or standalone
  • Renewables

Marine Trades

Key coverages include:

  • General liability
  • Marina operators liability
  • Products liability
  • Boat repairers liability
  • Pollution liability
  • Personal and advertising injury liability
  • P&I cover
  • Buildings and contents
  • Lifting equipment
  • Marina installations
  • Vessels under construction
  • Business interruption
  • Vessels
  • Goods in transit

Ports and Terminals

Key coverages include:

  • Third-party liability
  • Property and handling equipment
  • Business interruption
  • Port craft

U.K. Marine

Key coverages include:

  • Property and equipment
    • Buildings and contents
    • All risks
    • Lifting equipment
    • Marina installations
    • Goods in transit
  • Business interruption for loss of profit, revenue, or rent
  • Hull and machinery for vessels
    • used, operated, constructed or sold
  • Legal and contractual liability
  • Removal of wreck
  • Employers' liability
  • Terrorism

Galleon

Key coverages include:

  • Professional indemnity
  • Cargo liability
  • Warehousemans' liability
  • Third-party property damage and bodily injury
  • Loss of documents
  • Libel and slander
  • Breach of authority
  • Contribution to general average
  • Fines and duties

Contact our experts

United Kingdom

Andrew Carter
Senior Underwriter & Head of Liability
andrew.carter@markel.com

Louise Foley
Senior Underwriter – Marine Liability
louise.foley@markel.com

Simon Engelen
Senior Underwriter – Marine Liability
simon.engelen@markel.com

Chris Curran
Senior Underwriter – Marine Liability
chris.curran@galleon.uk.com

James Munn
Senior Underwriter – Marine Liability
james.munn@markel.com

Holley Higgins
Senior Underwriter – Marine Liability
holley.higgins@markel.com

James Hunt
Underwriter – Marine Liability
james.hunt@markel.com

Abigail Piper
Underwriter – Marine Liability
abigail.piper@markel.com

Ali Welchman
Underwriter – Marine Liability
ali.welchman@markel.com

Thomas Batterbury
Underwriter – Marine Liability
thomas.batterbury@markel.com

Kathryn Grahame
Assistant Underwriter – Marine Liability
kathryn.grahame@markel.com

Joshua Melville
Assistant Underwriter – Marine Liability
joshua.melville@markel.com

Benjamin Horspole
Underwriting Assistant – Marine Liability
benjamin.horspole@markel.com

Abigail Crawley
Underwriting Assistant – Marine Liability
abigail.crawley@markel.com

United States

Jim Taylor
Director, US Business Development
jim.taylor@markel.com

Singapore

Colin Fordham
Senior Underwriter & Director – Marine, Asia
colin.fordham@markel.com

Wanshi Lin
Underwriter – Marine Liability
wanshi.lin@markel.com

Danielle Yu
Underwriter – Marine Liability
danielle.yu@markel.com

Pik Ying Sam
Marine Underwriter
pikying.sam@markel.com

China

Qianhai Hu
Underwriting Director – China
qianhai.hu@markel.com

India

Anirudh Singh
Chief Underwriting Officer – India
anirudh.singh@markel.com

Deepika Mathur
Managing Director – India
deepika.mathur@markel.com

"The culture and people at Markel make it a great place to work. The most rewarding part of my role is seeing us deliver innovative insurance solutions to customers and seeing our younger members of staff progressing their careers so that they are the ones delivering those solutions."

Chris Fenn
Divisional Managing Director, Marine
chris.fenn@markel.com