Our financial institutions team provides cover on a worldwide basis (excluding sanctioned territories).

Depending on the client's needs, we can offer cover as a standalone or blended package including bankers blanket bond, professional indemnity, and directors and officers. Markel has provided cover for over twenty years and our underwriting team works closely with our experienced, in-house claims team.

Financial institutions coverage options

We can offer line sizes up to $20m on Company or Lloyd's paper.

We write business in various territories with particular focus on the UK and Europe.

Key coverages include:

  • Banks
  • Corporate Service Providers (CSPs)/trust companies
  • Fund/investment managers
  • Private equity/venture capital
  • Insurance companies
  • Commercial crime
  • Cryptocurrency

Contact our experts

United Kingdom

Martin McCarron
Senior Underwriter & Head of Financial Institutions
martin.mccarron@markel.com

Nick Rugg
Senior Underwriter – Financial Institutions
nick.rugg@markel.com

Julian Brown
Senior Underwriter – Financial Institutions
julian.brown@markel.com

Jamie Tomlin
Senior Underwriter – Financial Institutions
jamie.tomlin@markel.com

Sophie Forsyth
Assistant Underwriter – Financial Institutions
Sophie.Forsyth@markel.com

Hong Kong

Ada Lam
Underwriter – Professional & Financial Risks
ada.lam@markel.com

India

Anirudh Singh
Chief Underwriting Officer – India
anirudh.singh@markel.com

Deepika Mathur
Managing Director – India
deepika.mathur@markel.com

Malaysia

Andy Ang
Chief Representative – Malaysia
andy.ang@markel.com

Singapore

Simon Moi
Senior Underwriter – Professional & Financial Risks
simon.moi@markel.com

"The market has always been a very people-focused place. The ability to understand what makes people tick and build relationships is the fun part of the job."

David Sawyer
Divisional Managing Director, Professional and Financial Risks
david.sawyer@markel.com