Our technology and media team specialize in media, film, television, patent/intellectual property insurance, as well as information technology, telecommunications, and cyber/privacy risks.

Our Comtech product provides modular cover for clients in the technology and telecommunications field, and our cyber product (available as a stand-alone or an extension to other Markel products) is targeted at virtually all industries providing both third-party and first-party cover. We write business on a worldwide basis.

Technology and media coverage options

We can offer line sizes up to $20m on Company or Lloyd's paper.

We write business on a worldwide basis.

Key coverages include:

Emerging professions:

  • Information technology and telecommunications
  • Marketing, advertising, and communication agents/consultants
  • Digital media and multimedia companies
  • Publishers and broadcasters
  • Social media/networks

Emerging risks products:

  • Comtech (package product containing Professional Indemnity, General Liability, and cyber)
  • Cyber
  • Standalone cover
  • Privacy, data breach, and electronic risks extension
  • Intellectual property rights infringements (patents)
  • Libel and slander

Contact our experts

United Kingdom

Bhavik Desai
Senior Underwriter & Head of Professional Indemnity & TMT
bhavik.desai@markel.com

Nicola Marshall
Senior Underwriter – Technology & Media
nicola.marshall@markel.com

Josh Brown
Underwriter – Professional Indemnity, Technology & Media
josh.brown@markel.com

Joe Wornham
Underwriter – Technology & Media
joe.wornham@markel.com

Harry Runnacles
Underwriter – Professional Indemnity
harry.runnacles@markel.com

Singapore

Simon Moi
Senior Underwriter – Professional & Financial Risks
simon.moi@markel.com

Hong Kong

Gordon Lam
Senior Underwriter – Professional & Financial Risks
gordon.lam@markel.com

Ada Lam
Underwriter – Professional & Financial Risks
ada.lam@markel.com

Malaysia

Andy Ang
Chief Representative – Malaysia
andy.ang@markel.com

"The market has always been a very people-focused place. The ability to understand what makes people tick and build relationships is the fun part of the job."

David Sawyer
Divisional Managing Director, Professional and Financial Risks
david.sawyer@markel.com