Aerial view of industrial park

Downstream energy insurance

Our downstream energy team offers a range of products to cover oil refineries, petrochemical plants, fertilizer plants, and heavier gas-liquids fractionation operations.

Coverage also includes all associated assets involved in the transmission, distribution, and storage of refined products. Our downstream offering complements our upstream and midstream capabilities, providing clients with a fully integrated product for the whole energy value chain. Please see midstream for Liquefied Natural Gas (LNG) cover.

Downstream energy coverage options

We write business on a quota share and excess basis.

We can offer line sizes up to $50m on Company or Lloyd's paper.

We can write excess of loss layers.

We do not write a book of primary placements, but will write primary layers where we are able to write the excess layers as well.

We can write pure excess layers where the risk is within appetite and we are unable to take a line on the primary layer.

We do not write Fac RI primaries for other insurers.

Key coverages include:

  • Refineries
  • Petrochemical
  • Fractionation
  • Fertilizer plants

Contact our experts

United Kingdom

Greg Walters
Senior Underwriter – Head of Downstream
greg.walters@markel.com

Harry Booth
Underwriter – Energy
harry.booth@markel.com

Emma Cook
Underwriting Assistant – Energy
emma.cook@markel.com

Bobby Moore
Underwriting Assistant – Energy
bobby.moore@markel.com

Singapore

Aminah Sulaiman
Underwriter – Energy
aminah.sulaiman@markel.com

"Technology leaps, supply change, demand growth and efficiency gains – who knows what the energy landscape will look like in the coming years, but having a great team who are dedicated to understanding the needs of all our clients, whether global leaders or specialized niche players, means that as these seismic shifts take place, we are who the clients come to for innovative thinking and a safe place to assume their risk."

Rohan Davies
Divisional Managing Director, Energy
rohan.davies@markel.com