Aerial view of green lush mountains

Upstream energy insurance

Our upstream energy team offers a range of coverages including physical loss or damage, business interruption, control of well, machinery breakdown, and decommissioning risks.

By working with our in-house engineering capability, we are able to offer industry leading underwriting expertise to our clients, who include small to mid-size businesses as well as major industry players. We provide cover on a worldwide basis (excluding sanctioned territories).

Upstream coverage options

We can offer line sizes up to $300m on Company paper or $100m on Lloyd's paper.

We consider ourselves predominantly quota share (re)insurers.

We can write excess of loss layers.

We do not write a book of primary placements, but will write primary layers where we are able to write the excess layers as well.

We can write pure excess layers where the risk is within appetite and we are unable to take a line on the primary layer.

We do not write Fac RI primaries for other insurers.

Offshore key coverages include:

  • Physical damage to fixed and floating structures
  • Subsea infrastructure
  • Business interruption following a physical loss
  • Contractor fleets
  • Construction
  • Packages including third-party liability
  • Contractor fleets
  • Pipelines
  • Drilling contractors

Onshore key coverages include:

  • Drilling and well servicing
  • Well site equipment

Control of well key coverages include:

  • Stand alone, primary, and excess layers
  • Onshore and offshore exploratory/developmental drilling

Policy highlights

  • Physical loss/damage
  • Business interruption
  • Loss of hire
  • Control of well
  • Norwegian plan

Risk management and loss control

  • Engineering capability

Contact our experts

United Kingdom

Ben House
Senior Underwriter – Head of Upstream
ben.house@markel.com

Stuart Smith
Senior Underwriter – Head of Midstream
stuart.smith@markel.com

Clifford Blayney
Underwriter – Energy
clifford.blayney@markel.com

Tim Foister
Underwriter – Energy
tim.foister@markel.com

Emma Cook
Underwriting Assistant – Energy
emma.cook@markel.com

Bobby Moore
Underwriting Assistant – Energy
bobby.moore@markel.com

China

Qianhai Hu
Underwriting Director – China
qianhai.hu@markel.com

India

Anirudh Singh
Chief Underwriting Officer – India
anirudh.singh@markel.com

Deepika Mathur
Managing Director – India
deepika.mathur@markel.com

Singapore

Aminah Sulaiman
Underwriter – Energy
aminah.sulaiman@markel.com

"Technology leaps, supply change, demand growth and efficiency gains – who knows what the energy landscape will look like in the coming years, but having a great team who are dedicated to understanding the needs of all our clients, whether global leaders or specialized niche players, means that as these seismic shifts take place, we are who the clients come to for innovative thinking and a safe place to assume their risk."

Rohan Davies
Divisional Managing Director, Energy
rohan.davies@markel.com