Our trade credit team provides insurance coverage to help protect businesses.

  • We specialize in providing insurance solutions with a focus on risk management.
  • We have experience in providing global solutions for clients.

Trade credit coverage options

We can offer cover on Company or Lloyd's paper:

  • Trade credit: $150m per obligor and policy tenors up to 84 months
  • Contract frustration: $50m

We also write on our US papers MIC, MAIC, and Evanston.

We write business on a primary and excess basis.

We write business on a worldwide basis (excluding sanctioned territories).

Key coverages include:

  • Multi/named/single obligor structures
  • Insolvency/default
  • Non-repayment of pre-payment following non-delivery
  • Prepayment cover
  • Financial institutions:
    • Vendor/buyer (supply chain) financing
    • Trade finance solutions
    • Factoring/invoice discounting
    • Trade receivable securitization Basel II/III compliant risk transfer for capital relief
  • Captive reinsurance
  • Syndicated co-insurance solutions

Contact our experts

United Kingdom

Adrian Jones
Senior Underwriter & Head of UK & International Trade Credit
adrian.jones@markel.com

Simon Moon
Senior Underwriter & Head of Risk
simon.moon@markel.com

Simon Philpin
Senior Underwriter & Head of Business Development, Global Trade Credit
simon.philpin@markel.com

Philip Amlot
Senior Underwriter & Head of Portfolio, Global Trade Credit
phil.amlot@markel.com

Maren Modena
Underwriter & Senior Risk Analyst – Trade Credit & Political Risk
maren.modena@markel.com

Chris Tennant
Underwriter – Trade Credit & Political Risk
chris.tennant@markel.com

David Stevens
Underwriter – Trade Credit & Political Risk
david.stevens@markel.com

United Arab Emirates

Leroy Almeida
Head of Asia & MENA – Trade Credit & PRI
leroy.almeida@markel.com

Michael Gardner
Underwriter – Trade Credit & Political Risk
michael.gardner@markel.com

Maria Pereira
Underwriter – Trade Credit & Political Risk
maria.pereira@markel.com

Crystal Dsouza
Underwriter – Trade Credit & Political Risk
crystal.dsouza@markel.com

Singapore

Dillon Matthews
Senior Underwriter – Trade Credit & Political Risk
dillon.matthews@markel.com

Nicholas Davies
Senior Underwriter – Trade Credit & Political Risk
nicholas.davies@markel.com

Zong Wen Lee
Assistant Underwriter – Trade Credit & Political Risk
zongwen.lee@markel.com

United States

Arjan Van de Wall
Head of Trade Credit & Political Risk - Americas
arjan.vandewall@markel.com

Howard Lee
Senior Underwriter – Trade Credit & Political Risk
howard.lee@markel.com

Christen Mizell
Underwriter & Head of Midwest – Trade Credit & Political Risk
christen.mizell@markel.com

Jennifer Chang
Underwriter & Senior Risk Analyst – Trade Credit & Political Risk
jennifer.chang@markel.com

"I work with a great team who are always keen and committed to succeeding, both as a team and for Markel. I’m proud that my team have a strong blend of experience allied with a creative, solution-focused attitude."

Carl Titterton
Divisional Managing Director
Trade Credit, Political Risk and Surety
carl.titterton@markel.com