Skip to Main Content

Our trade credit team provides insurance coverage to help protect businesses.

  • We specialize in providing insurance solutions with a focus on risk management.
  • We have experience in providing global solutions for clients.

Trade credit coverage options

We can offer cover on Company or Lloyd's paper:

  • Trade credit: $150m per obligor and policy tenors up to 84 months
  • Contract frustration: $50m

We also write on our US papers MIC, MAIC, and Evanston.

We write business on a primary and excess basis.

We write business on a worldwide basis (excluding sanctioned territories).

Key coverages include:

  • Multi/named/single obligor structures
  • Insolvency/default
  • Non-repayment of pre-payment following non-delivery
  • Prepayment cover
  • Financial institutions:
    • Vendor/buyer (supply chain) financing
    • Trade finance solutions
    • Factoring/invoice discounting
    • Trade receivable securitization Basel II/III compliant risk transfer for capital relief
  • Captive reinsurance
  • Syndicated co-insurance solutions

Contact our experts

United Kingdom

Simon Philpin
Head of Trade Credit 
simon.philpin@markel.com

Adrian Jones
Senior Underwriter & Head of UK and Europe Trade Credit
adrian.jones@markel.com

Simon Moon
Senior Underwriter & Head of Risk
simon.moon@markel.com
 

Philip Amlot
Senior Underwriter & Head of Portfolio, Global Trade Credit
phil.amlot@markel.com

Maren Modena
Underwriter & Senior Risk Analyst – Trade Credit & Political Risk
maren.modena@markel.com

Christen Mizell
Underwriter & Senior Risk Analyst – Trade Credit & Political Risk
christen.mizell@markel.com
 

Chris Tennant
Underwriter – Trade Credit & Political Risk
chris.tennant@markel.com

David Stevens
Underwriter – Trade Credit & Political Risk
david.stevens@markel.com

United Arab Emirates

Crystal Dsouza
Senior Underwriter & Head of Trade Credit MENA – Trade Credit & Political Risk
crystal.dsouza@markel.com
  

Mohmed Talha
Senior Underwriter - Trade Credit & Political Risk
mohmed.talha@markel.com

Karan Agarwal
Assistant Underwriter - Trade Credit & Political Risk
karan.agarwal@markel.com

Vijay Prasad Lakshmi Narayana
Underwriting Assistant
vijay-prasad.narayanan@markel.com

Singapore

Nicholas Davies
Senior Underwriter – Trade Credit & Political Risk
nicholas.davies@markel.com

Malcolm Yao
Assistant Underwriter – Trade Credit & Political Risk
malcolm.yao@markel.com

United States

Arjan Van de Wall
Head of Trade Credit & Political Risk - Americas
arjan.vandewall@markel.com

Howard Lee
Senior Underwriter – Trade Credit & Political Risk
howard.lee@markel.com

Jennifer Chang
Senior Underwriter & Senior Risk Analyst – Trade Credit & Political Risk
jennifer.chang@markel.com

Christen Mizell
Underwriter & Senior Risk Analyst – Trade Credit & Political Risk
christen.mizell@markel.com
 

Ryan Fitzpatrick
Underwriter - Trade Credit & Political Risk
ryan.fitzpatrick@markel.com

Lisa Azzaro
Risk Analyst - Trade Credit & Political Risk
lisa.azzaro@markel.com