Our specie team offers a range of fine art, specie, jewelers' block, and cash in transit products on a worldwide basis, with a particular focus on the US and Asia (excluding sanctioned territories).

Markel's longstanding team can tailor wording to suit client requirements from those operating at individual locations through to those operating on a global basis.

Specie coverage options

Markel can offer line sizes up to $120m on Company paper or $100m on Lloyd's paper, and we write business on a primary and excess basis. Policy coverage is generally on an all risks of physical loss or damage.

Key coverages include:

  • Fine art (private collections, museums, exhibitions, galleries, and dealers)
  • Bullion and precious metals
  • Diamonds, precious, and semi-precious stones
  • Cash and securities
  • Mining risks (diamonds and raw minerals prior to refining)
  • Jewelers’ block
  • Cash in transit

Contact our experts

United States

Jamie Gregory
Manager – US Fine Art and Specie Business Development
jamie.gregory@markel.com

Payce Louis
Director of Underwriting and Production Fine Arts
payce.louis@markel.com

Cynthia Little
Senior Underwriting Technician
cynthia.little@markel.com

David Thompson
Underwriter – Specie
david.thompson@markel.com

Cody Wynn
Underwriting Support Specialist
cody.wynn@markel.com

Rachel Gillam
Underwriting Technician
rachel.gillam@markel.com

Bryn Girard
Underwriting Technician
bryn.girard@markel.com

Grace Culley
Underwriting Support Specialist
grace.culley@markel.com

United Kingdom

Robert Ashby
Senior Underwriter & Head of Specie
robert.ashby@markel.com

Max Elliot
Underwriter – Specie
max.elliot@markel.com

Brook Styles
Underwriter – Cargo, Specie, Terrorism
brook.styles@markel.com

Dominic Dahmen
Underwriting Assistant – Specie
dominic.dahmen@markel.com

Singapore

Colin Fordham
Senior Underwriter & Director
colin.fordham@markel.com

Janita Leu
Senior Underwriter
janita.leu@markel.com

Dawn Soh
Assistant Underwriter
dawn.soh@markel.com

China

Qianhai Hu
Underwriting Director – China
qianhai.hu@markel.com

India

Anirudh Singh
Chief Underwriting Officer – India
anirudh.singh@markel.com

Deepika Mathur
Managing Director – India
deepika.mathur@markel.com